Skip to content

On breakfast

March 3, 2011

I often wake up early- 4 or 5am- with hunger echoing in my belly. I ignore this and go back to sleep but when I do eventually get out of bed, I’m ready to eat. Immediately. I cannot relate to people who don’t eat breakfast. If I neglect to eat in the morning, I am cranky and irritable by 9am.

I’m also very specific about what I want to eat for breakfast. It is the same thing nearly every day and on those days when I have something different, I’m always a little regretful. The perfect breakfast as I see it is a cup of milky black tea and two slices of bread, toasted until slightly crisp at the edges, smeared with almond butter and raspberry jam. I thought about taking a picture of my breakfast this morning, but I was a little embarrassed at just how much almond butter and raspberry jam was slathered on there. So I just shot the tea.

Morning Tea

I’m getting picky about the tea also. When I was home for Christmas, my mother gave me a huge bag of  Harney and Sons organic Assam loose leaf tea. I’m still working my way through this bag, one morning at a time. In a pinch, I’ll drink any kind of black tea, especially over coffee, but this is the one that I look forward to when I wake up at 4am.

I can’t remember if I’ve always been so in love with breakfast, or if this is a recent, pregnancy-induced phenomenon, but as I’m eating breakfast, I’m already sad that it will soon be over. I’m willing to consider that this behavior might be a little obsessive.

In the unhappy event that I can’t have this for breakfast, my mother-in-law’s granola is a close second. I had this in Florida last week, and she’d been storing it in the freezer. This frozen granola with cold milk and sliced strawberries actually made me reconsider for a few moments my devotion to toast and tea. And now that you know how strong that devotion is to toast and tea, perhaps you’d like to try the granola? You won’t be sorry.

Maple Apricot Granola from Gourmet. I, of course, use gluten-free oats for this recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:35 pm

    Where’s the tea?

    • March 4, 2011 11:36 am

      Brewing there in the mug! And even now, at nearly lunchtime, I’m thinking I might need a second cup.

  2. Carrie permalink
    March 4, 2011 9:59 am

    Breakfast is my favorite meal too. I hear you on the almond butter….but what about maple cream? And nutella? And lemon marmalade? I think this is why my fridge is 98% condiments…

  3. March 4, 2011 11:32 am

    You’re right about Nutella, Carrie. I actually don’t keep it in the house because I eat too much of it and start looking for excuses to put it on crackers, bread, a spoon… Maple cream and lemon marmalade are things I haven’t tried. I might have to branch out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

