Skip to content

Vindaloo cauliflower

February 22, 2010

Vindaloo cauliflower

I had a conversation at work the other day in which I blithely commented that I haven’t been sick once this year. You know what’s coming right? I was immediately stricken with a nasty, snotty cold the very next day! I acknowledge that is probably my due for not providing my co-worker more sympathy for her own cold. Alas. What can I say? Sometimes it takes me more than once to learn a lesson.

So I lolled on the couch all day today, sniffling, sneezing and giggling myself silly over this website, and sniffling and sneezing some more. For breakfast I ate oatmeal that tasted like cardboard, drank tea that tasted like water, and ate chicken soup for lunch that had plenty of texture but no taste. Yes, my taste buds are sadly not registering much of anything right now.

And so for dinner, I pulled out the heavy stuff. Vindaloo cauliflower. It’s hardly a recipe, and I hesitate to post it as though it’s something complex and mysterious. However, I could taste it and today, folks, this was big news. I used a Vindaloo curry powder from Penzey’s Spices. I love this place. They sell herbs and spices that are fresh and delicious and relatively inexpensive as spices go. And the little stories they tell about them make the catalog’s arrival a much-anticipated event in my house. Check out their mini-lecture on peppercorns, for example. Great stuff.

So, tonight, my friends, I give you flavor.

Vindaloo cauliflower

This Vindaloo curry is a blend of coriander, garlic, cumin, ginger, Korintje cinnamon, brown mustard seed, cayenne pepper, jalapeño pepper, cardamom, tumeric, Telicherry black pepper, and cloves. You can, of course, make your own curry powder with the individual spices and tweak the flavors to suit your own palate. But I’m sick, remember? So that was definitely not on my agenda this evening. If I were to make my own, however, I might opt for slightly less cinnamon.

1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
2-3 T. olive oil to coat
2 tsp. Vindaloo curry powder
salt to taste

Preheat oven to 400°F. Toss cauliflower with olive oil. Add curry powder and then salt to taste. Spread on a baking sheet in a single layer. Bake until golden and crispy, about 30 to 35 minutes, turning once or twice during roasting. Serve with plain yogurt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:01 pm

    I love roasted caulflower and why not with Vindaloo!

Leave a Reply

