Skip to content

Cool zucchini and avocado soup

July 18, 2010

Nacent squash

Everyone is cranky at work. We’re cranky at home. People are driving more aggressively. I find myself saying things that don’t make sense. It’s the heat, folks, and it doesn’t seem to be putting us all on our best behavior. We had a solid week of record-breaking temperatures and since then, it hasn’t let up much. The north is wilting.

Living as we have been in this land of short tempers, I’ve been thinking lately about a friend of mine who impressed me years ago with his attitude towards something that was making me crazy. I was hot, I was irritated, and things weren’t going well. Finally, in frustration, I asked Ben for help. The man came over, glad to help, whistling. Perhaps I don’t need to tell you that the problem I was trying to solve was pretty quickly taken care of. I suspect it was the whistling.

Sun on squash

So, in this spirit, I’m trying to walk through these sweltering days, well, if not whistling at least doing my best to choose to lighten up a bit. I’ve been appreciating the garden’s lushness in the heat. Everything is suddenly immense. Garlic is fat and nearly ready to pull, tomatoes are growing so fast I swear you can almost see it, and the summer squash and zucchini are suddenly overwhelming. And so, I’m working my way through a pile of squash recipes and looking forward to the first ripe tomatoes from my garden, and I’m whistling in the heat.

Rain on cabbage

Cool zucchini and avocado soup

This was inspired by a recipe on Aapplemint’s blog and adapted for the avalanche of squash that I’ve got right now. It’s a pretty green and something I’ll definitely be making again.

4 med. zucchini or summer squash
1 large onion
1 med. cucumber
1 avocado
chicken stock, to taste
3 T. sour cream or plain yogurt
handful of basil leaves, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Coarsely chop squash and onion. Film a skillet with oil and saute onions until translucent. Add squash, salt to taste, and saute until soft. Let cool to room temperature. Meanwhile, peel and coarsely chop the cucumber and pulse in a food processor. Peel and pit the avocado and scoop out the flesh with a spoon into the food processor. Pulse with cucumber. Add cooled squash mixture and pulse until smooth, thinning with chicken stock as needed. Add basil and sour cream or yogurt and pulse until combined. Serve cool or cold, garnished with diced cucumber or chopped green zebra tomatoes if you can find them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nathan permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:48 pm

    This sounds tasty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

